Awards and Grants

Administrative Experience

Dean, College of Graduate Studies, Lamar University, 2001–07

Associate Vice-President of Research, Lamar University, 2001–06

Department Head, Department of English and Modern Languages, WTAMU, 1994–2001

Dean, Division of Humanities, Indiana University Southeast, 1993–94

Chair, Department of Humanities, New Mexico Tech, 1984–87

Teaching Experience

University Professor, Lamar University, 2014

Professor, Lamar University, 2001–

Professor, West Texas A&M University, 1994–2001

Professor, Indiana University Southeast, 1993–94

Associate Professor, New Mexico Tech, 1976–93

Assistant Professor, Boston University, 1975–76

University Teaching Fellow, Texas Christian University, 1970–75

Professional Experience


President, Conference of College Teachers of English, 2008–09

Director, West Texas A&M University Summer Writing Program, 1995–2001

President, Southwest/Texas Popular Culture Association, 1998–2000

President, Texas Association of Creative Writing Teachers, 1995–97

Editor, New Mexico Humanities Review, 1978–93

Director, Swift Lizard book distribution project, 1979–86

Editor, Saurian Press, 1980


Literary Arts Panel, Texas Commission on the Arts, 2005–07

Executive Council, Conference of College Teachers of English, 1991–92, 1999–2002, 2006–10

Executive Council, Texas Institute of Letters, 2002–06

Poetry Editor, Concho River Review, 1999–present

Board of Directors, Amarillo Bay (literary magazine), 1999–2007

Editorial Board, New Texas, 1998–2003

Manuscript Evaluator, Mosaic: A Journal for the Interdisciplinary Study of Literature, 1997–2002

Committee member, Joe D. Thomas Scholar-Teacher of the Year nominating committee, Texas

College English Association, 2001-02

Executive Council, Texas Association of Creative Writing Teachers, 1997–2000

Secretary, Gulf Coast Association of Creative Writing Teachers, 1997–99

President’s Council on the Arts and Sciences, Indiana University, 1993–94

Literature Panel, New Mexico Arts Division, 1986–89