Awards and Grants

Piper Professor, Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation, 2014

University Professor, Lamar University, 2014

Ann Die Hasselmo Faculty Excellence Award, Lamar University, 2014

Finalist, Summer Literary Seminars fellowship (Tony Hoagland, judge), 2012

Featured Poet, Red River Review, 2011

Distinguished Leadership Award, Southwest/Texas Popular Culture Association, inaugural award, 2009

Nominee, Pulitzer Prize, poetry, 2010

Second place, Texas Poetry Calendar contest, 2010

Frances Hernandez Teacher-Scholar Award, Conference of College Teachers of English, 2005

Outstanding Alumnus, Midwestern State University College of Liberal Arts, 2002

Named Award: The Jerry Bradley Award, Southwest/Texas Popular Culture Association given annually to the top graduate student in creative writing, annually since 2000

Joe D. Thomas Scholar-Teacher of the Year, Texas College English Association, 2000

Texas Institute of Letters, inducted 1999

British Literature Award, Conference of College Teachers of English, 1996

Nominee, Pushcart Prize, non-fiction, 1982; poetry, 1983, 1993

Honorary Fraternities

Sigma Tau Delta, honorary English fraternity, inducted 2003

Phi Beta Delta, honorary international scholars’ fraternity, inducted 1996

Pi Kappa Delta, honorary debate fraternity, inducted 1968

Who’s Who

Who’s Who in America, 61st edition, 2007

Directory of American Scholars, 10th edition, 2000

Outstanding Writers of the 20th Century, 1999

International Who’s Who in Poetry and Poets’ Encyclopedia, 1999

International Authors and Writers Who’s Who, 1998

Writing Awards

Boswell Poetry Prize, Descant, Frontiers in Writing, Inago, Panhandle Professional Writers, The Plowman, Rio Grande Writers Association, Rocky Mountain Modern Language Association, Texas Association of Creative Writing Teachers, Texas Christian University


more than thirty grants from the National Endowment for the Arts, Texas Commission on the Arts, Austin Writers League, Meadows Foundation, New Mexico Humanities Council, Witter Bynner Poetry Foundation, Coordinating Council of Literary Magazines, New Mexico Arts Division, and other agencies